top of page

'SWOT' Am I About?


Reflecting on where I am is something that I don’t do quite enough. That being said, it is important to take a step back and look at your strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats. For me, this process allowed me to evaluate and compare where my skills align with the requirements needed to be a BuzzFeed editor and the various aspects that I may need to work on.

What are my strengths?

I am always hesitant to come right out and say “this is what I’m great at.” There is a fine line between acknowledging your strengths and coming across as arrogant, so I hope I achieve the former. For me, different experiences lead to different skills and characteristics. When looking at the skills and requirements needed to be a BuzzFeed editor, studying creative industries majoring in both media and communications and interactive and visual design is a huge strength. With these two majors it opens a world of skills across social media theories, trends in society, web design, graphic design, photography and film. This is hugely beneficial, as I believe the skill set complements each other and fits across a variety of BuzzFeed’s needs.

Where do my weaknesses lie?

It goes without saying that, being a uni student, one of the biggest weaknesses is my lack of degree. Despite being on the way to graduation I am not quite there yet, with my current qualifications extending to the completion grade 12, and an assortment of different experiences.

One of the key components needed for being a BuzzFeed editor, is an extensive portfolio and the ability to work fast paced. A portfolio is something I still need to work on, and put time and energy in to. When it comes to working fast, whilst I am able to function under pressure, constant and fast paced work is challenging and can influence both my productivity and creativity.

In terms of personal character traits, one of my biggest weaknesses is my lack of confidence in my abilities and when talking to others. Fortunately, through time and practice, this is something I am aware of and can improve on.

What opportunities do I have?

As I am still emerging in the media world, I am only slowly becoming aware of all the opportunities presented to me. One major opportunity is that BuzzFeed has headquarters in Australia, so as an Australian, it reduces some of the hoops I have to jump through to get a job at the company. However this does have it’s limitations and threats…

What are my threats?

It’s never fun to realize the threats that are in the way of you and your dream job. Living in Brisbane, Australia dramatically limits the job opportunity within the creative industries. With BuzzFeed Australia being based in Sydney, in order to work there, I would have to relocate.

In the ever-shifting media climate we currently live in, it is hard to see where the digital future will take us. BuzzFeed is a pioneering company when it comes to media and online marketing however, as the online world shifts, the trends may become harder to predict.

bottom of page